Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Android TV Support? Release app to Play Store!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Android TV Support? Release app to Play Store!

I don't know why I haven't seen VMedia before, but I just stumbled upon it recently, and I love the concept. I've been saying for awhile now that I'd love to pay a reasonable price for streaming TV. It's not perfect as there's still a lot of bundling going on but I understand the reasons for that, and the pricing is still compelling enough that I'd like to subscribe.

However, there is one MAJOR issue I have with VMedia right now, and that is the fact that if I want to subscribe I must use your VBox device. Now, judging by the forums, this box is not exactly great. I've had plenty of experience with Android based boxes (I had two HiSense Pulse's, had some Android Sticks, and now have three Nexus Players).

Given that your Live TV offering is really just an app, what are the chances of you putting this app up on the play store, or even just offering it privately to your customers to sideload onto the android devices of their choice? Technically are there any major hurdles to this? (I'm a mobile app developer myself so my guess is no - even the PVR stuff you can probably do nicely in a background Service). Are there any content/licensing road blocks to doing this?

Android TV also has support now for Live TV (http://techcrunch.com/2014/12/10/goo...s-coming-soon/) I'm not sure at how easy they are to work with on integrating this, but apparently it already works or shows up with HDHomeRun VIEW (http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/12...ent-1735540849). In my opinion this would be the *best* way to make VMedia work on a device.

So, bottom line, is there any chance in you guys releasing your Live TV app .apk files so I can run this on my own Android TV Nexus Player devices? Or, is there any chance you'll move toward the "Android TV" platform for your own VBox hardware?